White Knoll HOSA does well at the State Leadership Conference

White Knoll HOSA competed in the State Leadership Conference. They traveled with 13 students including one 2018-2019 State Officer.

Ending the event, we had one Top 5 MRC team consisting of Joseph Ravago, Giselle Mota, and Jacob Dooley.

We also had two First Place Winners: Julianna Mills in Clinical Specialty and Gabryelle Martin in Pharmacy Science.

We had three students that won college scholarships: Julianna Mills, Keeghan Shropshire, and Giselle Mota.

While attending the conference, our students were unrelenting as they campaigned for Keeghan Shropshire. Their efforts were rewarded when Keeghan was elected as Post Secondary Vice President for the 2019-2020 year at the awards ceremony.

The first place winners and state officer will travel to Orlando in June to compete in the International HOSA Leadership Conference.

Center HOSA competes at this year’s HOSA SLC

At the HOSA SLC this year, 22 of the 39 students from Center HOSA placed in the Top 5 of their event. We had 17 students qualify for the International Leadership Conference this June in Orlando. We had 8 students earn first place in their event, six students who won second place, and three students finished in third. The results for Center HOSA are below:

1st Place:
Laura Witt – Sophomore – River Bluff – Medical Law and Ethics
Madison Kutyla – Junior – Lexington – Healthy Lifestyle
Jordyn Carroll (RB), Maile Carroll (RB), Austin Taylor (WK), and Thomas Wilson (RB) – Seniors – Biomedical Debate
Abbigail Dew (WK) and Mikayla Jones (RB) – Seniors – Community Awareness

2nd Place:
Kirby Shealy – Junior – River Bluff – Medical Math
Alaisha Smith (WK – Senior), Caterin Hermida (WK – Senior), Lily Morris (WK – Senior), Sydney Cowart (WK – Senior) and Grace Robinette (WK – Junior) – MRC Partnership

3rd Place:
Caleb Moody – Sophomore – River Bluff – Pathophysiology
Mitesh Patel – Sophomore – WK – Pharmacy Science
Alexia Davis – Junior – WK – Prepared Speaking

Top 5:
Cameryn Powell – Junior – WK – Dental Terminology
Emily Hearn – Junior – RB – Pathophysiology
Rutvik Patel (RB – Senior), Ian Hendley (LHS – Senior), and Jenna Couture (LHS – Senior) – Medical Innovations Original Idea

We are very proud of the work and dedication of all of our students.

Science Olympiad Regional Results

Science Olympiad recently competed in the Regional Science Olympiad Competition held in Charleston at the Citadel. The top finisher of the day was Gabrielle Craft who won FIRST PLACE in the Engineering event, Boomilever! She followed the engineering design process over several weeks and her boom held the maximum mass allowed!

Several students were top four finishers including Dennis Cooper and Nathan Norris who placed 4th in both Chemistry Lab and Thermodynamics and Dennis Cooper and Nate Bieling who also placed 4th in Experimental Design. These students all worked very hard on these events as did their coach, Mr. Rick Filotei.

Other team members and top 10 finishes include:
Jordan duBarry -5th Disease Detectives, 5th Water Quality
Georgina Lopez -7th Anatomy and Physiology
Anna Oliver – 5th Water Quality
Jonathan Tucker -5th for The Wright Stuff (balsa airplane)
Cassidy Woodard -5th Designer Genes (with Nate Bieling) , 7th Anatomy and Physiology

WKHS students win at LMC’s ‘Art of Healing’

Sarah Claas won the CEO’s Award and a check for $250 from the CEO of Lexington Medical Center for a pencil drawing that was submitted to LMC’s annual ‘Art of Healing’ art show. Her framed work is currently on display in the Columbia Museum of Art, alongside work from other Lexington County Art students that had work selected for this show. Knowing someone close to her that is struggling to recover from addiction, her work is about holding onto a piece of of tangible progress toward successful recovery.

Taylor Carder won third place and a Visa gift card for $75 from Wellmore of Lexington for her photograph titled, “Reach.” This was a competition of high school student art from Lexington County that was curated for the enjoyment of senior citizens and their families at Wellmore of Lexington, an assisted living facility.

Prom Ticket Information

Before you buy those tickets, you need to ask yourself, “Is my date a WK student?” If so, you need to print out the form below, (whichever applies to you), get your date to fill it out, and submit it ASAP! Remember, dates must be 21 or younger, be able to pass a background check, and cannot have been expelled from a Lexington 1 school.